Building on the Joyce Awards

Since the inception of the Joyce Awards in 2004, the competition has awarded more than $4.4 million to commission 82 new works and collaborations between artists and leading arts, cultural, and community-based organizations. On this page, we celebrate the accomplishments and awards won by past Joyce Awards recipients.

Featured Awards

Grammy Awards

3 Winners After Joyce Awards


1 Winner After Joyce Awards

Pulitzer Prizes

3 Winners After Joyce Awards

MacArthur ‘Genius’ Fellowship

4 Winners After Joyce Awards

Bessie Awards

4 Winners After Joyce Awards

Additional Awards


Tyree Guyton (2018)

Seitu Jones (2017)

Dance/USA Fellowships to Artists

Ananya Chatterjea (2019)

Rosy Simas (2019)

Heinz Awards

Sanford Biggers (2021)

Gabriela Lena Frank (2020)

Creative Capital Awards

Kameelah Janan Rasheed (2022)

Larissa Fasthorse (2019)
Kaneza Schaal (2016)
Edgar Arceneaux (2005)

Emily Johnson (2013)

Theaster Gates (2012)

Ali Momeni (2013)

McKnight Foundation

Wing Young Huie (2018 Distinguished Artist Award)

Seitu Ken Jones (2017)

Uri Sands (2011)

Emily Johnson (2013)

Time 100 Most Influential People

Julie Mehretu (2020)

Lynn Nottage (2019)

Princess Grace Awards

Camille A. Brown (2019, 2017, 2016)

Uri Sands (2010)

Jacob’s Pillow Dance Award

Camille A. Brown (2016)

Bill T. Jones (2010)

United States Artists Fellowships

Rosy Simas (2022)

Sandra Delgado (2021)

Nari Ward (2020)

Kaneza Schaal (2019)

Helado Negro (2019)

Terence Blanchard (2018)

Luis Alfaro (2018)

Tarell Alvin McCraney (2018)

Camille A. Brown (2015)

Uri Sands (2015)

Gabriela Lena Frank (2010)

Jawole Willa Jo Zollar (2008)

Will Power (2008)

Edgar Arceneaux (2007)

Nick Cave (2006)